A mathematics degree at seventeen
WSFA 12 News, reporting on the Harding family in May 2020, records Hannah's route in a single line: a bachelor's degree in mathematics from Auburn University at seventeen. Auburn is a large public research university, not a programme designed for accelerated students, which makes the age the notable part rather than the institution.
What she did afterwards is the part that distinguishes her within her own family. The station reports that she holds two master's degrees and a doctorate in engineering from Tuskegee University. Early entry gets a student to a first degree quickly; it does not by itself produce a research doctorate, and the second achievement is the harder one.
The family method
Kip and Mona Lisa Harding homeschooled all ten of their children, and WSFA reports that nine of the ten started college by the age of twelve. The parents set out the approach in a book, The Brainy Bunch: The Harding Family's Method to College Ready by Twelve, whose title states the target plainly.
Mona Lisa Harding's own account of the method is not about acceleration but about attention. "We feel that if you love your kids, you know your kids best, you know what their strengths and weaknesses are," she told the station, adding that "any parent can home school you just have to hang in there." The claim is that the advantage is parental knowledge rather than a curriculum.
Her siblings, for scale
The WSFA report lists the family in a way that gives Hannah's record its context. Seth finished high school at ten, took a history degree with a political science minor from Huntingdon College at sixteen, and earned a law degree from the University of Alabama at nineteen. Serennah graduated from Huntingdon at seventeen and became a Lieutenant Commander in the Navy. Rosannah completed a five-year architecture programme at the California College of the Arts at eighteen.
The list continues. Heath took a master's in computer science from Troy University Montgomery at seventeen. Keith earned a master's from Faulkner and moved on to a doctorate in counselling psychology at Gallaudet University. Katrinnah was a second-year law student at Faulkner University at seventeen. Mariannah was a junior at Bellevue University at fourteen, Lorennah a freshman there at twelve, and Thunder, at ten, was studying for the ACT.
What is documented — and what is not
The firm facts about Hannah are four: the university, the subject, the age at graduation, and the two master's degrees and engineering doctorate from Tuskegee. They come from a local television report about the family as a whole, published on 19 May 2020 and written by Ashley Bowerman.
That is also the limit. No source in this record gives her birth year, the dates of any of her degrees, the fields of her two master's degrees, the subject of her doctoral research, her employer, or where she lives. The report is a family roundup rather than a profile of her, and this page does not extend it.
Why the family became a case study
Early college entry is normally an individual story: one child, one unusual test score, one institution willing to take the risk. What made the Hardings a national story is repetition. Ten children, one household, and nine of them at university by twelve moves the question from talent to method, which is precisely the argument their book makes.
The results reported by WSFA also answer the standard objection to acceleration, which is that early entrants burn out or stall at the first degree. In this family the record runs on through doctorates, professional qualifications and military commissions. Whether the method transfers to households without two committed full-time teachers is a question the reporting does not test.
| Person | Country | Milestone | Age / Stat |
|---|
What is documented — and what is not
✓ Documented
- Bachelor's degree in mathematics from Auburn University at 17 (WSFA, 19 May 2020)
- Two master's degrees and a doctorate in engineering from Tuskegee University
- One of ten children homeschooled by Kip and Mona Lisa Harding; nine started college by 12
? Unverified, disputed or wrong
- No birth year, exact degree dates or doctoral subject in these sources
- The fields of her two master's degrees are not stated
- No employer, current role or location is documented
- Single-source record: a local television roundup of the whole family
Questions people ask about Hannah Harding
Who is Hannah Harding?
One of the ten homeschooled Harding children of Montgomery, Alabama. She graduated from Auburn University at seventeen with a degree in mathematics and later earned two master's degrees and a doctorate in engineering from Tuskegee University.
How old was she when she finished her first degree?
Seventeen, according to WSFA 12 News.
What is her doctorate in?
Engineering, from Tuskegee University. The source does not state the specific field of research or the year it was awarded.
What is the Brainy Bunch?
The name attached to the Harding family and the title of the parents' book, The Brainy Bunch: The Harding Family's Method to College Ready by Twelve.
How many Harding children went to college early?
WSFA reports that nine of the ten started college by the age of twelve.
Who are her parents?
Kip and Mona Lisa Harding, who homeschooled all ten children.
Where is Hannah Harding now?
No source in this record states her current employer or location. The documented trail ends with the degrees listed in the 2020 report.
Is Hannah Harding on Wikipedia?
No Wikipedia article was found for her. The source used here is WSFA 12 News.
Quick quiz: how well do you know Hannah’s story?
Where did Hannah Harding take her first degree?
How old was she when she graduated?
Where did she earn her doctorate?
Sources
- Montgomery teen on track to be youngest lawyer in Alabama history — WSFA 12 News, 2020-05-19
Checked by the Geniuses.club editorial team. Ages are given as of September 2026.
Discover More Child Prodigies
50+ stories of contemporary young geniuses changing chess, music, science, and art.
Explore All Prodigies →
